Now in Our 15th Year
Over 6.2 Million Served

I Pray Radio
The Presidents Cabinet

The President’s Cabinet

The United States Cabinet (usually referred to as the President’s Cabinet or simplified as the Cabinet) is composed of the most senior appointed officers of the executive branch of the federal government of the United States. Its existence dates back to the first American President, George Washington, who appointed a Cabinet of four people (Secretary of State Thomas Jefferson; Secretary of the Treasury Alexander Hamilton; Secretary of War Henry Knox; and Attorney General Edmund Randolph) to advise and assist him in his duties. Cabinet officers are nominated by the President and then presented to the United States Senate for confirmation or rejection by a simple majority. If approved, they are sworn in and begin their duties. Aside from the Attorney General, and previously, the Postmaster General, they all receive the title Secretary. Members of the Cabinet serve at the request of the President.

We encourage you to pray for these leaders by name.

The President And His Cabinet

The President of the United States is the head of state and head of government of the United States and is the highest political official in the United States by influence and recognition. The President leads the executive branch of the federal government and is one of only two nationally elected federal officers (the other being the Vice President of the United States).

Among other powers and responsibilities, Article II of the U.S. Constitution charges the President to “faithfully execute” federal law, makes the President commander-in-chief of the United States armed forces, allows the President to nominate executive and judicial officers with the advice and consent of the Senate, and allows the President to grant pardons and reprieves.

The President is indirectly elected by the people through the Electoral College to a four-year term. Since 1951, presidents have been limited to two terms by the Twenty-second Amendment. Forty-three individuals have been elected or succeeded to the office, serving a total of fifty-six four-year terms. On January 20, 2009, Barack Obama became the forty-fourth, and current, president.

In order of succession to the Presidency:

Vice President – Joseph R. Biden

Speaker of the House of Representatives – Paul D. Ryan

President Pro Tempore of the Senate – Orrin G. Hatch

Secretary of State – John Kerry

Secretary of the Treasury – Jack Lew

Secretary of Defense – Ashton Carter

Attorney General – Loretta E. Lynch

Secretary of the Interior – Sally Jewell

Secretary of Agriculture – Thomas J. Vilsack

Secretary of Commerce – Penny Pritzker

Secretary of Labor – Thomas E. Perez

Secretary of Health & Human Services – Sylvia Matthews Burwell

Secretary of Housing & Urban Development – Julian Castro

Secretary of Transportation – Anthony Foxx

Secretary of Energy – Ernest Moniz 

Secretary of Education – John King

Secretary of Veterans Affairs – Robert McDonald

Secretary of Homeland Security – Jeh Johnson

Council of Economic Advisers – Jason Furman

EPA – Gina McCarthy

OMB – Shaun L.S. Donovan

US Trade Rep – Michael Froman

US Ambassador to UN – Samantha Power

Chief of Staff – Denis McDonough

Small Business Administration – Maria Contreras-Sweet